Honey Wine and Celery Poached Fish

After my all-meat weekend trip, I was dying to get fish back into my diet! I wanted something that’s a little lighter but, at the same time, steer away from the usual steam and broil options. So, I decided to poach the fish steaks I bought and came up with this recipe.

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 pieces fish steak (any white fish would do)
  • 2 celery stalks, roughly chopped
  • Half a lemon, sliced
  • 1/4 cup honey wine Note: The honey wine gives a good natural sweetness to this dish. If you can’t find honey wine, any richly sweet dessert wine would do.
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • few drops of sesame oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • French beans, blanched (optional)

PROCEDURE

  • Put all ingredients in a shallow pan except for the French beans.
  • Poached the fish for about 5-10 minutes or until the fish is cooked. Season with salt and pepper. Tip: The cooking time will depend on how thick the fish is. The fish steak I used is about a little more than 1/2 an inch.
  • When the fish is done, set aside.
  • Simmer the poaching liquid until it thickens a little.
  • To serve, transfer the fish onto a serving plate, drizzle the poaching liquid over the fish steaks, and put the lemon slices on top.

Optional: You can put the blanched French beans on top of the fish. You can also use Bok Choy for some leafy greens.

 

 

Leave a comment